top of page
Search
  • mssinsel

Intro Post - I'm a Real Person, I Promise.

Hi everyone. My name is Madi Sinsel. Like all of you, I'm taking Digital Art 2 this year. I've been creating art since I was old enough to old a crayon, and without taking a single art class in high school, made the decision to become an art minor in college.

My philosophy in art isn't very similar to my philosophy in life. I believe that in life, you should follow what you're most passionate about and work your ass off until you're happy with where you are, never allowing yourself to be stuck in someplace you don't want to be. In art, there is no right answer to me. When asked what inspires me in terms of my definition of art, I think about Duchamp and his "Fountain" piece. I think art is too subjective to grade, and so subjective that almost anything can be called art if one person thinks it is. And that's what I love about art - because it's so subjective, it's a space where you can feel free to create anything you want without fear of it not technically being art.

That being said, I have taste, so I believe that while anything can be art, not everything is art. I'm a minimalist artist, and I do a lot of line art and one line art. Actually, one of my favorite pieces I've ever made was a two-piece mini series my final for Digital Art 1. They were also the first gallery pieces I ever sold. Pretty cool! Here are the super nice people who bought the pieces.

Nature, femininity, the moon and sun, warm colors, and love are all influences and recurring themes in my practice. I approach art making from a very instinctual standpoint, and honestly, I make it because it's all I ever want to do and all I ever plan to do. I believe art is humanity's way of sharing, acknowledging, and exploring the deepest universal themes that connect us all. It's our way of feeling like we're not alone. Plus it looks pretty.

My predominant medium is digital, but gouache comes in a close second. I'm actually scheduled to have my first solo exhibition in the fall, and I'm really excited (and nervous, because I plan to premiere a really big painting series that I haven't even started on yet.)

Thanks for listening to my rantings about art, and I look forward to seeing what you all create.


Madi

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page